EPSMF Announces Finalists for the 2019 OM/NI Competition Showcase

El Paso, Texas–The El Paso Society for Musicians of the Future (EPSMF) presents the second annual competition showcase for young composers. OM/NI – Original Music/New Ideas – fills a niche that reaches out to young composers and provides an opportunity to share original classical music.

This year’s national competition features Emerging Composers (ages 17-25) for original solo piano scores. Finalists are:

▪ Santiago Ramones - Edmond, OK (University of Central Oklahoma)
▪ Forest Field - Canyon, TX (West Texas A&M)
▪ Garrett Thompson - El Paso, TX
▪ Foo Jeng Wong - Brighton, MA
▪ Lyana Cremnitz - Abilene, TX (Hardin-Simmons University)
▪ Trevor Langford - Berea, OH (Baldwin Wallace University)

The OM/NI Competition Showcase will take place on August 11, 2019 as part of the Sounds of St. Mark’s Series at 3PM. The public is invited to attend. Admission is free. Original scores will be performed by Guillermo de la Garza, Elvira Spector, and Samuel Maddox (EPSMF 2019 Competition for Young Musicians winner). The audience will have a chance to participate in the Audience Choice Award by voting for their favorite new piano composition presented in this showcase. Finalists will be published in an OM/NI New Works Compilation. Awards will include cash prizes for the top three entries.

According to EPSMF vice-president, Stephen Jackson, “We are honored and privileged to present a compelling selection of works by new voices in composition. You will surely find something to captivate you in this unique concert.”

featuring local guest artists
Sunday, August 11, 2019 – 3:00PM
Sounds of St. Mark’s Series
5005 Love Road, El Paso, TX 79922

Free to the public. Donations welcome.

EPSMF events are made possible with the support of the El Paso Museum and Cultural Affairs Department and the El Paso Community Foundation.